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Licensure by Endorsement 
 
Graduates of state approved or accredited programs who are licensed in another state or territory of the 

United States shall be eligible for licensure by endorsement in Mississippi, providing the educational 

requirements prevailing in other jurisdictions are substantially equivalent to those in Mississippi at the 

time of the applicant's graduation and providing the applicant has met the Mississippi minimum passing 

standard on the licensure examination. 

 

1. Fees (non-refundable) 

a. RN $100.00/ LPN $60.00 

b. Fingerprinting for Criminal Background Check $75.00 

 

2. Current license 

a. Must be able to submit proof of current license in another state; or 

b. Evidence of eligibility for reinstatement of licensure in the compact state if that compact 

state were the applicant’s primary state of residence.   

3. Official transcript (e-Script or mail to the address above)  

a. Official transcript of basic nursing degree from an approved or accredited nursing 

program 

b. Transcript must indicate date of program completion or graduation and degree conferred 

prior to initial licensure 

 

*Official transcript requirments for applicants from Countries outside the States and 

Territories of the United States: 

1. Have evidence of nursing education and credential evaluation submitted by the Commission 

on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS).  

a. Request a CES Professional report if you are a graduate of an English speaking 

program.  

b. Submit evidence of passing an English proficiency examination if your education 

program was not taught in English or if English is not your native language.  

2. Visit www.cgfns.org to request reports, more information, and questions regarding the 

evaluation process.  

4. Verification from original nursing board 

a. If your original licensing Board participates in NURSYS verifications visit 

www.NURSYS.com, and “Request Verification” for Endorsement and submit payment 

online.  

b. If you were originally licensed in Alabama, California, Hawaii, Louisiana (LPNs only), 

or Pennsylvania, contact your original Board of Nursing to request your verification for 

the Mississippi Board of Nursing. Upon completion of the endorsement application, there 

is a verification request form that may be printed if required by your original Board. The 

form does NOT need to be submitted to the Mississippi Board of Nursing.  

 

http://www.cgfns.org/
http://www.nursys.com/
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5. Criminal Background Check (CBC) 

Miss Code Ann. Section § 73-15-19 (1) and 73-15-21 (1) authorizes the Mississippi Board of 

Nursing to undergo a fingerprint-based criminal background history check of the Mississippi 

central criminal data base and the Federal Bureau of Investigations criminal history data base 

on all applicants for licensure. Please follow the instructions below to complete the criminal 

background check process. 

a. You must complete the Endorsement application before registering for the CBC. 

b. Complete the CBC registration using the exact name as used on the endorsement 

application. If you have undergone a name change different from the name on your photo 

identification, you must present the necessary legal documents (i.e., marriage certificate, 

divorce decree, or other legal name change document) as proof at the time of 

fingerprinting. 

c. Pay the $75.00 fee online. Fees are non-refundable.  

d. Mississippi residents will need to call the MSBN to schedule a fingerprint time. If you 

reside outside Mississippi, an official MSBN fingerprint card will be mailed to you with 

instructions. 

 

 

If you have not practiced as a nurse within the last five years,  

you will need to evidence of continuing basic nursing 
Any RN or LPN applying for a license must submit evidence of continuing basic nursing 

competencies when such nurse has not practiced nursing for compensation or performed the 

function of a RN or LPN in a voluntary capacity with or without compensation within the 

five (5) year period immediately prior to such application for a license, renewal, 

reinstatement or change of status. 

 

Evidence of continuing basic nursing competencies shall include submission of written 

documentation of one of the following: 

1. Successful completion of a board-approved Reorientation Program for RNs or 

LPNs within the five (5) year period immediately prior to such application for 

renewal or reinstatement of the nursing license. The board may issue a temporary 

permit to any nurse during the time enrolled in a board-approved nursing 

reorientation program upon submission of required application and fees; 

2. Completion of twenty contact hours of continuing education directly related to 

nursing practice within the two (2) year period immediately prior to such 

application for renewal or reinstatement of the nursing license. Acceptable 

continuing education offerings are those which are currently approved, 

accredited, provided, or offered by a recognized credentialing agency; 

3. Successful completion of a minimum of three (3) semester hours of nursing 

credit offered by a nursing education program within the two (2) year period 

immediately prior to such application for renewal or reinstatement of the nursing 

license. An acceptable nursing program is one which is approved or accredited 

by the appropriate agency within the state. 

 

 
 


